Hatch - Sticker Mailorder

Stickerpedia



Sticker History


Where, how and when exactly this brilliant phenomenon 'sticker art' began is hard to say because it started from the beginning as subculture and till today it's unfortunately one of the art world not so respected expression form.

Nevertheless and might just because of my fascination with this medium a small try or theory as how the whole thing maybe started and developed. Stickers as an advertising medium as we know them are used since about the 50ies. But the jump into the creative champions league began probably mid to late 70s as the skateboard culture became increasingly popular and the first creative masters started to refine the decks with magnificent designs and additionally... Stickers with this ingenious designs!

One of the first great examples is 'Wes Humpston' for 'Dogtown Skateboards':




During this time the business developed rapidly and several companies also with creative heroes appeared. One heof t masters in the industry with unforgettable eternal classics is without any doubt...

The holy 'Jim Philipps' himself and for 'Santa Cruz':




No less important, Mr. 'V. Courtland Johnson' for 'Powell Peralta':




In the 80ies there was a giant leap in the scene, more delicious companies were founded with icons like 'Push Head' for 'Zorlac':




'Mark Gonzales' for 'Vision':




'Andy Howell' for 'New Deal':




'Mark McKee' for 'Blind' & 'World Industries':




'Ed Tempelton' for 'Toy Machine':




'Sean Cliver' for 'Blind' & 'Girl':




Fortunately, the energy of the companies and artists is unstopable and so you can claim gladly that all these giants are still active and new masters come! A good example is the mentioned 'Sean Cliver' who create some awesome designs for 'Supreme', a hula company of our time:




At last, I would note a brilliant new release in this league: 'Todd Bratrud' with 'Consolidated':




Through this heavenly development, many skaters and people in its environment has been feeded with fantastic input and positive influenced with the fact that sticker can be a perfect expressive medium.

As also in the 80ies, the graffiti culture started their march through the colorful planet unfortunately it was also the fact that a couple of can magicians sometime get in contact with the law. Through the extremely harsh punishments, it was close to take some relax time at home and not only fill up the Black Book in a creative way but also some adhesive paper. It can not run better.

There is time and muse because not any cop disturbs, the light is always burning and extensively, all the desired colors are available without lugging and badabing... Amazing masterpieces in miniature or massive sticky tags can be produced, are able to be plucked out of the pocket easily all over the city and multi-urban presence is guaranteed! Due to the tempting availability of mailing postal stickers in postal offices all over the world they became very quick to popular standard adhesive materials.

A particular variant of 'blank sticker' in the USA came up with the 'Hello my name is' stickers. These were originally used by industry for large exhibitions and conferences and are also easy and cheap to get in large quantities.


Here are a few examples of this movement: 'Hello my Name is'




Postal Stickers - U.S. Label228, German Post and others:






What could be a better mix than the influence of many creative talents by the skateboarding scene and the new phenomenon of 'make your own stickers and spread it outside!' Growing up with this dream combination, individuals such as 'Shepard Fairey' with 'Obey' started his project. He's probably one of the rockets for the final sticky cultural movement as we know it today. Also important to mention is that the professional printing of stickers has become so cheap that all the enthusiasts as Mr. Fairey end of the 80ies, have numerous technical possibilities and massive amounts of stickers are available to invade the streets and spots in every country, city, street, house, flat and on and on and on...

Details to Shepard's motives, drive and vision can be checked here: http://obeygiant.com/essays/sticker-art http://obeygiant.com/about


Here also a few impressions from him:




But not only the United States has a sticky icon ... Also we in Berlin have someone who certainly most of the people will mentioned when they think about sticker art in Germany: Tower!

Because of the fact that he runs no website, interviews are rarest and has never been in an exhibition i also want to respect this philosophy and only tell: There is no corner in Berlin where you will not discover a sticker of him! All hand made and in countless variations.


Here are two gems from him:




Finally, one more than important thing:

There are trillions of sticker artists that deserve to be mentioned here personally and to be presented. They all enjoy my greatest appreciation, respect and admiration and nothing is harder than not to portray all. But it should just be just a small part of this arty paradise! So please don't missunderstand it or see it as a individual hatch opinion.

You can find more creative input at the Museum Friends, the Gallery or in the Links. Or of course, always live and directly in the sticker palace.

Big big honor, tons of thanks and i remain respectfully with the thickest saludos,

Oli / Hatch



For more information check this links:




Singles

Single Stickers

The widest range of classic and new single sticker relases in skateboarding & streetwear such as street art and many more.

Packs

Sticker Packs

From arty to limited to hard to get, sticker packages in many different kinds!

Specials

Specials

Here's the opportunity to get a unique piece of street art plus a few more surprises!

DeineStadtKlebt.de


Paper Bullets

Visit The Museum




nach oben

Hatch - Sticker Mailorder

Stickerpedia



Sticker History


Wo und wie und wann genau dieses geniale Phänomen 'Stickerkunst' begann ist schwer zu sagen da es von Anfang an sehr subkulturell begann und bis heute noch eine von der Kunstwelt leider nicht so beachtete Ausdrucksform ist.

Dennoch und gerade wegen meiner Faszination für dieses Medium, ein kleiner Versuch oder Theorie, wie sich die ganze Sache so entwickelt hat oder haben könnte. Sticker als Werbemittel in der Form wie wir sie kennen werden etwa seit den 50er Jahren benutzt. Aber der Sprung in die kreative Champions League begann wohl Mitte bis Ende der 70er Jahre als die Skateboard Kultur immer populärer wurde und die ersten kreativen Meister begannen, die Decks mit grandiosen Designs zu veredeln und dazu eben auch, geniale Sticker mit diesen Designs zu produzieren!

Eines der ersten großartigen Beispiele ist 'Wes Humpston' für 'Dogtown Skateboards':




In dieser Zeit ging es dann rasant weiter und einige Companies mit dazugehörigen kreativen Größen folgten. Dazu gehört zweifelsohne einer der Meister der Branche mit unvergesslichen, ewigen Klassikern.

Der heilige 'Jim Philipps' himself für 'Santa Cruz':




Nicht weniger wichtig, Mr. 'V. Courtland Johnson' für 'Powell Peralta':




Voll in den 80ern gelandet gab es einen Riesenschub in der Szene, weitere Companies schoßen wie köstliches Unkraut aus dem Boden und es kamen Ikonen wie 'Pushhead' für 'Zorlac' dazu:




'Mark Gonzales' für 'Vision':




'Andy Howell' für 'New Deal':




'Mark McKee' für 'Blind' & 'World Industries':




'Ed Tempelton' mit 'Toy Machine':




'Sean Cliver' für 'Powell' & 'Girl':




Glücklicherweise lässt die Energie der Companies und der Artists bis heute nicht nach und so kann man froh behaupten, dass alle genannten Größen bis heute noch vielseitig tätig sind und immer neue Meister hinzukommen! Ein gutes Beispiel ist der zuletzt genannte 'Sean Cliver' der für 'Supreme', einem edlen Label unserer Zeit großartige Designs gestaltet hat:




Zuletzt noch möchte ich als geniale Neuerscheinung in dieser Riege nennen: 'Todd Bratrud' für 'Consolidated':




Durch diese paradiesische Entwicklung wurden auch viele Skater und Leute in dessen Umfeld mit traumhaften Input gefüttert, auf's positivste beeinflusst und die Tatsache eingepflanzt dass Sticker eben ein Hula Medium sein können.

Als ebenfalls in den 80ern, die Graffiti Kultur ihren bunten Marsch durch den Planet startete war es nach einiger Zeit auch leider Tatsache, dass ein paar der Dosenmagier irgendwann auch mit dem Gesetz in Berührung kamen. Durch die teils extrem harten Strafen lag es nah, sich mal in Ruhe zuhause abzulegen und nicht nur das Blackbook sondern eben auch mal allen Arten von Klebepapier kreativ zu füllen. Besser kann es ja auch nicht laufen.

Es ist Zeit und Muse da, es stört kein Cop, das Licht brennt immer und ausgiebig, alle gewünschten Farben stehen ohne Schlepperei zur Verfügung und tatäää. Wahre Masterpieces in Kleinformat oder massenweise selbstklebende Tag Visitenkarten können entstehen, überall in der Stadt aus der Tasche gezupft werden und multiurbane Präsenz ist dadurch garantiert! Aufgrund der verlockenden Auslage von Postversandstickern in Poststellen allermöglicher Länder wurden diese sehr schnell zu beliebten Standard-Klebeunterlagen.

Eine besondere Variante von 'Blanksticker' kam in den USA mit den 'Hello my Name is' Stickern auf. Diese wurden ursprünglich von der Industrie für Messen und große Konferenzen verwendet und waren ebenfalls leicht und günstig in großen Mengen zu bekommen.


Hier ein paar Beispiele dieser Bewegung: 'Hello my Name is'




Postal Sticker - US Label228, Deutsche Post u.a.






Was konnte es für eine bessere Mischung geben als die Prägung zahlreicher kreativer Talente durch die Skateboard Szene und dem neuen Phänomen 'mach Deine eigenen Sticker und tob Dich draussen aus! Aus dieser Traumcombo heraus wuchsen dann Individuen wie z.B. Shepard Fairey mit Obey heraus. Warscheinlich eine der endgültigen Raketen für die Klebekultur Bewegung wie wir sie heute kennen. Dadurch das mit den Jahren, das professionelle Drucken von Stickern so günstig geworden ist, stehen nun allen Aktiven, wie Mr. Fairey Ende der 80-iger, zahlreiche technische Möglichkeiten und vor allem auch Stickermengen um sich breit zu machen, zur Verfügung.

Ausführliches zu Shepard's Motiven, Antrieb und Sicht der Dinge könnt ihr hier erfahren: http://obeygiant.com/essays/sticker-art http://obeygiant.com/about


Hier auch zu ihm ein paar Eindrücke:




Doch nicht nur die USA hat eine Klebe-Ikone. Auch wir in Berlin haben jemand der ganz sicher in vielen Köpfen die an Sticker denken als erstes erscheint: Tower!

Aufgrund dessen dass er bewusst keine Webseite pflegt, seltenst Interviews gibt und niemals eine Ausstellung gemacht hat, will ich diese Philosphie auch respektieren und nur erwähnen: Es gibt keine Ecke in Berlin an der Du bei einem 360 Grad Blick nicht einen Sticker von ihm entdeckst! Alles handgemacht und in unzähligen Varianten.


Hier zwei Kostbarkeiten von ihm:




Zum Schluss noch eine mehr als wichtige Sache:

Es gibt trilliarden von Sticker Künstler die es verdient hätten hier persönlich erwähnt und präsentiert zu werden. Sie alle genießen meine größte Wertschätzung, Respekt und Bewunderung und nichts ist schwerer als nicht alle zu porträtieren. Aber es soll eben nur eine kleiner Ausschnitt dieses Kunstparadises sein. Also niemals falsch verstehen oder als hatchige Wertung sehen.

Weitere kreative Eindrücke könnt ihr bei den Museum Friends, der Galerie und den Links entdecken. Natürlich auch immer gerne live und direkt im Stickermuseum.

Habe die Ehre, freu mich bergeweise und verbleibe mit dicksten Saludos,

Oli / Hatch



Weitere Links zum Thema:




Singles

Single Stickers

Das größte, Stickersortiment mit Klassikern und Neuheiten aus den Bereichen Skateboarding & Streetwear sowie Street Art und vieles mehr.

Packs

Sticker Packs

Von kunstvoll bis limitiert und schwer zu kriegen, Sticker Packs in verschiedensten Varianten!

Specials

Specials

Die Specials bieten alles, was das Stickerleben noch perfekter macht!

DeineStadtKlebt.de


Paper Bullets

Visit The Museum




nach oben